Global SME Finance Awards

Global SME Finance Awards

The Global SME Finance Awards 2019 recognized and celebrated financial institutions and fintech companies for their outstanding achievements in delivering exceptional products and services to their SME clients. Endorsed by the GPFI, the Global SME Finance Awards provide an opportunity for institutions to showcase and share their good practices and knowledge and to learn from them!


Women-owned SME Bank of the Year

Product Innovation of the Year

Responsible Digital Innovator of the Year

SME Bank of the Year - ASIA

SME Bank of the Year - AFRICA

SME Bank of the Year - GLOBAL

Honorable Mentions

Product Innovation of the Year

  • Fincera Inc
  • Middle East Investment Initiative
  • Bitbond GmbH
  • Euler Hermes, Allianz
  • Youxin Financial
  • Omiexperience S/A
  • Banking Circle Lending
  • Dodore Kenya Ltd
  • European Investment Fund
  • Shanghai F-Road Commercial Services Co., Ltd.
  • BBVA
  • Medical Credit Fund
  • The Co-operative Bank of Kenya
  • CredEx Fintech
  • United Nations Capital Development Fund (UNCDF)

Responsible Digital Innovator of the Year

  • BASIX Sub-K iTransactions Ltd
  • Apollo Agriculture
  • Tala
  • Funding Circle

Women-owned SME Bank of the Year

  • Itaú Unibanco
  • Garanti BBVA
  • Banco Pichincha C. A
  • Kinara Capital
  • Şekerbank T.A.Ş.


  • Syed Momen
  • Philip Sigwart
  • Rajeev Chalisgaonkar
  • Roland Pearson
  • Jay Singer
  • Manshuk Erzhanova
  • Maarten Susan
  • Mary Miller
  • Raoul Van Engelshoven
  • Habil Olaka
  • Michael Makau
  • Thomas DeLuca
  • Bambang Moerwanto
  • Martin Tornes
  • Gianluca Riccio
  • Boon Chan
  • Matteo Rizzi
  • Laura Foschi
  • Ozlem Oktay
  • Kate Hallam
  • Christophe Bochatay
  • Cameron Evans
  • Bill Haworth
  • Vivian Owuor
  • Ulugbek Tilyayev
  • Andrew McCartney
  • Jose Etchegoyen
  • Leila Search
  • Shinya Yoshino
  • Margarete Biallas
  • Andrey Artyukhin
  • Marc Babin
  • Matthew Hosford
  • Ian Weetman
  • Simba Mabhena
  • Momina Aijazuddin
  • Jacob Haar
  • Els Boerhof
  • Thomas Koch
  • Paula Felipe
  • Ghada Teima
  • Hans Dellien
  • Matt Saal
  • Amanda Elam
  • Beth Rhyne
  • Bing Xiao
  • Claire Scharwatt
  • Helene Panzarino
  • Jesse Mcwaters
  • Jessica Trujano
  • Lew Goodwin
  • Michele Bongiovanni
  • Paula Zambrano
  • Seema Patel
  • Victoria White
  • Wim van der Beek
  • Anushe Khan
  • Khalil Nasr
  • Asad Naqvi
  • Felix Schneider
  • Alla Kramskaia

Award Categories

Product Innovation
of the Year
SME Bank
of the Year
Digital Innovator
of the Year
Women SME Bank
of the Year

Judging criteria

Awards will be judged by a committee of industry experts. Judging criteria is specific to each category and may include the following areas:
What is the number of MSMEs served/financed and volume of financing provided/loan outstanding to the MSMEs both directly and indirectly?
Uniqueness & Innovation
Has the project introduced new or cutting-edge innovation? How original is the idea compared to solutions that are currently in use?
Effectiveness & Impact
Did the project/product/service achieve its objectives and targets? What measures have been used to assess its success? What was the impact to your company and industry?
Dynamism & Scalability
Is the strategy, project, service or product flexible to changes and progressive opportunities?
Category specific criteria and questions are detailed in the category entry forms so please access the Global SME Finance Awards Platform for more information.